IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Flood risk management in two Moroccan watersheds: Fès and Beni Mellal

The project concerns two Moroccan watersheds in urbanised areas: Fès and Beni Mellal. The research is carried out through two PhD theses, one at the University of Fès (Mohamed Lasri), concerning Fès watershed, the other one at the University of Lausanne (Gabriela Werren), concerning Beni Mellal watersheds. The research is divided in four main steps: (1) Geomorphological mapping and cartography of human impacts on hydrology (urban extension, communication network, water embankments, etc.). This phase allows us to elaborate a map of phenomena and a map of vulnerability. (2) Hydrological analysis of both watersheds. (3) Elaboration of an indicative map of flood hazards of both watersheds (scale 1:25'000). The map is realised using the Swiss hazard mapping approach and hydrological imputs by the Moroccan partners (4) Synthesis and elaboration of recommendations for water managers. The project is aimed at improving integral management of hydrological hazards in Morocco, in close relationship with territorial management issues, as well as reinforcing University co-operation between Switzerland and Morocco.


Research fields Alpine studies
Water and geoheritage
Mountains and process geomorphology
Water Resources Management
Hydrogeomorphology
Water Resources Management
Keywords GIS
Risk
Flood risk
Cartography
Water management
Funding Swiss agency for development and cooperation (SDC)
Duration July 2009 - December 2013
Website www.unil.ch/igul
Researchers Balin Daniela (Hydrologist)
Lambiel Christophe (Geomorphologist)
Reynard Emmanuel (Project co-ordinator)
Werren Gabriela Georgeta (PhD student)

Publications

Werren, G. and Lasri, M. (2014). Cartographie du danger d'inondation : guide pratique pour l'application de la méthode suisse au Maroc. Institut de géographie et durabilité, Université de Lausanne et Laboratoire d'analyses géo-environnementales et d'aménagement, Université Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah Fès. Info
Werren, G. (2013). Maps as risk mitigation tools. Adaptation of the Swiss hazard assessment and mapping methodology to a Moroccan site: Beni Mellal. Géovisions 44. Université de Lausanne, Institut de géographie et durabilité. ISBN 978-2-940368-19-8. Info
Reynard, E., Lasri, M., Werren, G., Obda, K., Amyay, M., Taous, A., Balin, D. and Lane, S. (2012). Étude des dangers d'inondation dans les bassins de Fès et Beni Mellal. Analyse hydrologique, carte indicative des dangers, étude de la vulnérabilité et recommandations. Lausanne, Fès: Institut de géographie et durabilité et LAGEA. Info
Reynard, E., Werren, G., Lasri, M., Obda, K. et El, K.Y. (2012). Cartes des phénomènes d'inondation de deux bassins versants marocains: problèmes méthodologiques. Mémoires de la Société vaudoise des Sciences naturelles, 25: 61-71. Info
Reynard, E., Lasri, M., Werren, G., Obda, K., Amyay, M. and Taous, A. (2011). Carte des phénomènes d'inondation des bassins de Fès et Beni Mellal. Rapport. Institut de géographie, Université de Lausanne, 1015 Lausanne: Institut de géographie, Université de Lausanne; LAGEA, Université Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah, Fès. Info

View of Beni Mellal

Torrential deposits

Embankment in an area subject to flood hazards

Bridge with underestimated water section

Research team

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


Gestion du risque d’inondation dans deux bassins versants marocains : Fès et Beni Mellal

Ce projet porte sur l’étude de deux bassins versants urbanisés du Maroc : Fès et Beni Mellal. L’étude est réalisée sous la forme de deux thèses de doctorat réalisées en étroite collaboration, l’une à l’Université de Fès (Mohamed Lasri), portant sur le bassin de Fès, l’autre à l’Université de Lausanne (Gabriela Werren), portant sur le bassin de Beni Mellal. La recherche est divisée en quatre étapes principales : (1) Cartographie géomorphologique et des aménagements (urbanisme, voies de communication, aménagements hydrauliques, etc.) sur les deux bassins versants. Cette phase permet l’élaboration d’une carte des phénomènes (aléas) et d’une carte de la vulnérabilité. (2) Analyse hydrologique dans les deux bassins versants. (3) Réalisation d’une carte indicative des dangers d’inondation dans les deux bassins versants concernés, à l’échelle du 1 : 25'000. Cette carte est élaborée sur la base des méthodes cartographiques développées en Suisse et de l’expérience hydrologique des partenaires marocains. (4) Synthèse et élaboration de recommandations pour la gestion intégrale du risque d’inondation dans les deux bassins versants. Ce projet doit d’une part permettre de développer les études de dangers hydrologiques et leurs liens avec l’aménagement du territoire et d’autre part de renforcer la coopération universitaire entre les deux pays.


Domaines de recherche Études alpines
Processus géomorphologiques de montagne
Gestion de l'eau
Hydrogéomorphologie
Gestion de l'eau
Mot-clefs SIG
Risque
Risque d'inondation
Cartographie
Gestion de l'eau
Financement Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC), Suisse
Durée Juillet 2009 - décembre 2013
Site Web www.unil.ch/igul
Chercheurs Balin Daniela (Hydrologue)
Lambiel Christophe (Géomorphologue)
Reynard Emmanuel (Chef de projet)
Werren Gabriela Georgeta (Doctorante)

Localisation du projet


Publications

Werren, G. (2013). Maps as risk mitigation tools. Adaptation of the Swiss hazard assessment and mapping methodology to a Moroccan site: Beni Mellal. Géovisions 44. Université de Lausanne, Institut de géographie et durabilité. ISBN 978-2-940368-19-8. Info
Reynard, E., Lasri, M., Werren, G., Obda, K., Amyay, M., Taous, A., Balin, D. et Lane, S. (2012). Étude des dangers d'inondation dans les bassins de Fès et Beni Mellal. Analyse hydrologique, carte indicative des dangers, étude de la vulnérabilité et recommandations. Lausanne, Fès: Institut de géographie et durabilité et LAGEA. Info
Reynard, E., Lasri, M., Werren, G., Obda, K., Amyay, M. et Taous, A. (2011). Carte des phénomènes d'inondation des bassins de Fès et Beni Mellal. Rapport. Institut de géographie, Université de Lausanne, 1015 Lausanne: Institut de géographie, Université de Lausanne; LAGEA, Université Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah, Fès. Info

Vue de la ville de Beni Mellal

Dépôts torrentiels récents

Construction d'une digue en zone inondable

Pont avec section du cours d'eau sous-dimensionnée

Equipe de recherche